IT Help Desk‎ > ‎How-To‎ > ‎

Accessing Network Drives Off Campus

What is NetStorage?

NetStorage is a way for faculty and staff to securely access their network drives (H:\, I:\, and V:\) from home, or anywhere with a connection to the Internet, using a web browser. Any file that you normally access when on campus via your Novell login is available to you from off campus. Editing a document using NetStorage requires that you download the document to your local computer, perform the edits, then upload the edited file back to the network drive. This document contains instructions and procedures for working with your network files.

By using a web browser, you are able to access files and documents on your home "H" drive, shared "I" drive, and "V" drive from anywhere in the world (as long as you have an active Internet connection and a Web Browser). Using NetStorage, you are able to not only access your files, but also copy, move, rename, delete, read, and write files between an off campus computer and your network drives. Remember that all Acceptable Use Policies still apply when using this system.

WARNING: If you are using any public computer, for example from a library, please remember to delete and empty any and all files that you downloaded to that computer.

Requirements:

  • A Web Browser (Internet Explorer, Firefox, Chrome, and Safari have been tested)

  • An Internet Connection (It can be a dial-up connection but this will be much slower)

Logging onto NetStorage:

Accessing NetStorage requires only your Novell (Nor'Easter) user name and password and a computer connected to the Internet. If you do not know your Novell user name and password, please use the links on the Password & Accounts page of this portal to look it up, or contact the IT Help Desk.
  1. Open your web browser and enter the following line in the address or network location box: netstorage.une.edu Press Enter and of the login screen below will appear. 

    WARNINGDO NOT check the box "Remember my password". If you save your password, you allow anyone access to personal, confidential, and sensitive UNE information. They only need to type in your user name at the login screen.



  2. Enter your Novell user name and password in the login screen.
After you log in, a web page is displayed that lists files and directories. The underlined words (File, Edit, View, and Help) are the headers for menus that allow you to work with network files. They are located on the right hand side of the page. The page similar to the one below appears.



NOTE! The folder called Drive H@username (Atest in this case) is your Network "H" drive, Drive I@GROUPS is your network "I" drive, and Drive V@GROUPS is the network "V" drive, etc. Clicking on the plus sign [+] next to the folder will open the folder and reveal its contents. 


Viewing the Contents of a Folder:

Click on the folder name in the left pane. The contents of the folder will appear in the right pane.

Download a File:

When you download a file it does not lock the file. This means that someone else can make changes while you are viewing if the file is in a shared folder. In order to edit the file, you must download it to your local machine and then edit it from the copy located on your machine.

To download a file:

  • Click on the file you wish to view 

  • Click File

  • Select Download...

  • Click Save. Browse to a location on your computer to save the file you are downloading. Make sure that you remember that location.

    You can open the file and edit it. Be sure to
    save the file after you are finished editing it.
    You will need to upload the revised file to NetStorage in order to permanently save the edits to your network storage.

    A word about Download and Upload times:

    These time are dependent on three things -- the speed of the internet connection, network traffic, and the size of the file. If the internet connection speed is slow as often happens with dial up modems or there is heavy network traffic, the download or upload of a file can take a long time, especially if the file is large. Please be patient.

    Upload a New or Edited File:

    Make sure you save your work on your local computer before you upload the file. Once you have made changes to your your file, or you have a new file that needs to be saved to a network drive, you need to upload it to NetStorage. Remember that uploading a file with the same name replaces the existing copy of that file on the server.

    To Upload a File:

  • Browse to the NetStorage folder that you want to upload your file to.

  • Click File

  • Select Upload...

  • A new window appears. Click Browse...

  • Browse and select the file that you want to upload.



  • If you have more than one file to upload, click the "plus" sign next to the Browse... button.

  • Once you have selected all the files you want to upload, click the Upload button at the bottom of the

    window.

    NetStorage Commands for Working with Files and Folders: Creating a New Folder:

  • In the left-pane, click on the folder where you want to create a new folder.

  • Click File

  • Select New Folder

  • Enter the name of your new folder

  • Click OK 


    Copying a File or Folder

  • In the right-pane select the file or folder that you wish to copy.

  • Click Edit

  • Select Copy

  • The following dialog box will appear.


  • In the left-pane Navigate to the folder in which you wish to copy the file or folder to.

  • Click Edit

  • Click Paste

  • The file or folder that you selected will be copied to the destination you

    selected.



    Moving a File or Folder:

  • In the right-pane select the file or folder that you wish to move.

  • Click Edit

  • Select Move

  • The following dialog box will appear.



  • In the left-pane Navigate to the folder in which you wish to copy the file or folder to.
  • Click Edit

  • Click Paste

  • The file or folder that you selected will be moved to the destination you

    selected.



    Deleting a File or Folder:

  • In the right-pane select the file or folder that you wish to delete.

  • Click File

  • Click Delete
    A dialog box will appear. Click OK.


    The file will be deleted.


Logging Out of NetStorage:

When you have completed all your work and no longer require a connection to NetStorage, look for the icon of a door with an arrow at the top of the page. When you move the mouse over it, the word "Logout" will appear. Click on the icon to log out of your NetStorage session.


The last screen is the logout screen confirming the end of your NetStorage session. As the instructions on the screen say, please close your browser. Otherwise, someone can click back into your NetStorage session using the browser back arrow.


NOTE: The screenshots displayed were made using Firefox as a browser, which is the recommended browser. The screenshots will look different if you use Internet Explorer, Chrome, Safari, etc.