Public Groups: Managing Properties

After your public group has been created, you can view the properties of the group or make changes and set additional details in the Outlook Web Access Control Panel. Here's how:

  1. Login to your Office 365 Web Access account at http://outlook.com/une.edu
  2. Select Outlook from the top menu. Next select Options>See All Options
  3. On the new page select Groups from the left menu.
  4. In the Public Groups I Own list, select the group you want to view or change. 
  5. After you have selected a group, click Details. You can view or change the following:
  • General:  This section provides basic information about the group. 
    • * Display name This name appears in the shared address book, on the To: line when email is sent to this group, and in the Groups list. The display name is required and should be user-friendly so people recognize what it is. It also has to be unique in your domain.
    • If you've implemented a group naming policy, the display name has to conform to the naming format defined by the policy.
    • * Alias The name portion of the email address that appears to the left of the @ symbol. It has to be unique in your domain. When a user types the alias in the To: line of an e-mail, it resolves to the group's display name.
    • * E-mail address The email address for the group. If you change it, it must be unique in your domain.
    • Description Use this field to describe the group so people know what the purpose of the group is.
    • Hide this group from the shared address book Select this check box if you don't want users to see this group in the shared address book. To send email to this group, a sender has to type the group's e-mail address for this group in the To: or Cc: fields. Consider hiding security groups because they're typically used to assign permissions to group members and not to send email.

  • Ownership:  Use this section to assign group owners. The group owner can add members to the group, approve or reject requests to join or leave the group, and approve or reject messages sent to the group.
    • * Owners:  By default, the person who creates a group is the owner. All groups must have at least one owner. You can add owners by clicking Add. You can remove an owner by selecting the owner and then clicking Remove.
  • Membership:   Use this section to add or remove members. Group owners don't have to be members of the group.
    • Members To add members, click Add. Select a user or other group and click Add. When you are finished adding members, click OK to return to Group properties. To remove members, select a member from the list and click Remove.
  • Membership Approval:   Use this section to specify whether approval is required for people to join or leave the group.
    • Choose whether owner approval is required to join the group: These settings apply to membership. Select one of the following settings:
      • Open: Anyone can join this group without being approved by the group owners 
      • Closed: Members can be added only by the group owners. All requests to join will be rejected automatically
      • Owner Approval: All requests are manually approved or rejected by the owners If you select this option, the group owner or owners receive an email requesting approval to join the group.
    • Choose whether the group is open to leave:   Select one of the following settings:
      • Open: Anyone can leave this group without being approved by the group owners 
      • Closed: Members can be removed only by the group owners. All requests to leave will be rejected automatically If you select this option, the group owner or owners receive an email requesting approval to leave the group.
  • Delivery Management: Use this section to manage who can send mail to this group.
    • Only senders inside my organization: Select this option to allow only senders in your organization to send messages to the group. This means that if someone outside of your organization sends an e-mail message to this group, it is rejected. This is the default setting.
    • Senders inside and outside of my organization: Select this option to allow anyone to send messages to the group.
    • You can further limit who can send messages to the group by allowing only specific senders to send message to this group. Click Add and then select users, groups, or external contacts. If you add senders to this list, they are the only ones who can send mail to the group. Mail sent by anyone not in the list is rejected.
    • Important:  If you have configured the group to allow only senders inside your organization to send messages to the group, e-mail sent from an external contact is rejected, even if they are added to this list.
    • To remove a person or a group from the list, select them from the list and then click Remove.
  • Message Approval: Use this section to set options for moderating the group. Moderators approve or reject messages sent to the group before they reach the group members.
    • Messages sent to this group have to be approved by a moderator: This check box isn't selected by default. If you select this check box, incoming messages are reviewed by the group moderators before delivery. Group moderators can approve or reject incoming messages.
    • Group moderators: To add group moderators, click Add. To remove a moderator, select the moderator, and then click Remove. If you have selected "Messages sent to this group have to be approved by a moderator" and you don't select a moderator, messages to the group are sent to the group owners for approval. 
    • Senders who don't require message approval: To add people or groups that can bypass moderation for this group, click Add. To remove a person or a group, select the item, and then click Remove.
    • Select moderation notifications: Use this section to set how users are notified about message approval.
    • Notify all senders when their messages aren't approved: This is the default setting. Notify all senders, inside and outside your organization, when their message isn't approved.
    • Notify senders in your organization only when their messages aren't approved: When you select this option, only people or groups in your organization are notified when a message that they sent to the group isn't approved by a moderator.
    • Don't notify anyone when a message isn't approved: When you select this option, notifications aren't sent to message senders whose messages aren't approved by the group moderators.
  • E-Mail Options: Use this section to view the e-mail address for the group.
  • Mail Tip: Use this section to add a Mail Tip to alert users of potential issues if they send a message to this recipient. A Mail Tip is text that is displayed in the infobar when this recipient is added to the To, Cc, or Bcc fields of a new email message. For more information, see Configure MailTips.

    For example, you could add a Mail Tip to large groups to warn potential senders that their message will be sent to lots of people.
    6.    When you're finished, click Save to keep your changes or click Cancel to close the dialog box.