Video Everywhere

Using the content editor, you can record video everywhere. Once installed and activated, a new icon is added to the content editor that controls your webcam. You can record video from the content editor and upload it directly to YouTube™. You must have a Google® account that is registered on YouTube. A YouTube channel is required to process and save your webcam videos.


How to Record and Share Video Using the Content Editor
1. Click Record from Webcam

2. When prompted, click Sign in to YouTube.

3. Sign in to YouTube using your Google account. Click Grant Access to allow your Blackboard server to upload video     on your behalf.

    If your Google account has not yet been enabled for YouTube access, you will receive a prompt to open a new            browser tab and log in to YouTube. Once logged in to YouTube, create your YouTube channel to upload and store         your videos. Navigate back to the video everywhere window and click Sign in to YouTube. Click Grant Access.

4. Click Record from webcam.

5. When you are prompted by Adobe Flash to enable the player settings, accept or agree.

6. Agree to allow the recorder to upload videos to YouTube.

7. Click Start Recording. When you are finished, click Stop Recording.

8. Click Upload to save your video on YouTube.

9. Click Insert to add the video to the content editor. You can choose between:
  • Play in place: Plays the video in the current location. Users can resize the video size to match the content. A placeholder appears in the content editor where your video will play for viewers.
  • Thumbnail: A small image of the video is displayed. Users click on the thumbnail to view the video in a new window.

10. Your video appears in your content item. It takes a few minutes to encode the video so it may not play immediately.  You might even receive a "This video is unavailable" message. Wait a few minutes and try again.

How to Make Your Video Accessible
After you upload your video to YouTube, you can add closed captions and descriptive captions. Captions and transcripts help people who are deaf or who experience hearing impairments understand the audio track of your video. Captions also help people who speak different languages or have learning disabilities understand what is happening in your video. For more information on captions, see the Blackboard page Best Practice: Captioning Video Content.

Privacy
By default, all videos are recorded under the Unlisted privacy setting. An unlisted video does not appear under YouTube searches and only users who know the link can access it. This does not guarantee complete privacy. The Unlisted setting allows authors to publish and share videos easily without a need for specifically choosing who can view the video. If the users have access to where the video is published, they can view it. They can also click a YouTube logo on the video which allows users to view the unlisted video on youTube.com site.

You can change the privacy setting to Private. From the video library, edit the video to make it Private in the YouTube clip edit settings. If you make a video private, only the users you specifically include, and who have a google account can view it. Private videos appear in the video everywhere library with a lock next to it. Private videos cannot be viewed by anyone other than the author and specified viewers.